Northumberland - Winter Outing
Alumni and guests are invited to join the Northumbrian Cambridge Association for their winter outing to the Heritage Centre at Bellingham.
The Heritage Centre at Bellingham tells the stories of the people of the North Tyne and Rede valleys through text, imagery, sound and, of course, objects. The displays present the social, agricultural and industrial history of the area as well as a small section about the Border Reivers. The Centre is run entirely by volunteers. It opened in a former garage in Bellingham’s main street in 1994. In 2000, it moved to a redundant depot in the yard of the village’s former railway station. Several grants since the move have allowed the Centre to expand and embellish its offering, most notably by the acquisition of two 1957 railway carriages.
There are four permanent exhibitions: Border Reivers; Border Counties Railway; Bellingham photographer, W P Collier (1875 – 1937); Agriculture in the area; and the Stannersburn Smithy. A computer database lists over 50,000 entries of people connected with the North Tyne and Redesdale whilst 2,000 historic images may be viewed on two public access computers.
Following the museum visit, members may wish to explore Bellingham village, where there are a few café and food outlets. The energetic may relish a stroll of 3 miles (return) through a narrow woodland valley to the spectacular waterfall of Hareshaw Linn, to which entrance is free, but this is not part of the official visit.
If you would like to attend this event please, complete to booking form provided below by Wednesday, February 23rd.