Cambridge University Freshers' Events

Cambridge University Freshers' Events

  • Image of freshers event

China (Zhejiang) Freshers' Event

Thursday, 1 August 2019 to Tuesday, 1 October 2019
Open to: 
Graduate students
Undergraduates

New students are invited to come to a relaxed and informal Freshers’ Event this summer, to help you prepare for university and make new friends before you arrive. 

Hear from current and former students about living and studying at Cambridge. Bring your questions and leave with information and advice from those who know what you are going through.

More events will be added to the schedule throughout the summer, so check back here regularly for updates.

If you are unable to attend a Freshers’ Event, or can’t find an event near you, why not contact any of the 430+ Alumni Groups worldwide for information and advice? Or join a Cambridge Facebook group for new students, such as Cambridge University International Freshers 2019, run by the Cambridge University Students Union (CUSU).

There will be lots of events for new students in Cambridge when you arrive, such as the Freshers Fair organised by CUSU and the International Freshers Week, organised by CUSU International (iCUSU), a branch of CUSU. These are in addition to events at your College.

Schedule of events

Event Date
New New York City - Freshers' Event Thursday, 25 July 2019 - 6.30pm to 9.30pm EDT
Nigeria - Freshers' Event Thursday, 15 August 2019 - 6.00pm to 8.00pm WAT
New China (Zhejiang) - Freshers' Event Sunday, 18 August 2019 - 9.00am to 6.00pm CST
Perth - Freshers' Event Thursday, 22 August 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.00pm AWST
New Aarhus - Freshers' Event Sunday, 25 August 2019 - 3.00pm to 6.00pm CEST
Toronto - Freshers' Event Tuesday, 27 August 2019 - 6.00pm to 11.00pm EDT
New Mexico City - Freshers' Event Thursday, 29 August 2019 - 7.00pm to 10.00pm CDT
Updated Bangkok - Freshers' Event Friday, 30 August 2019 - 6.00pm to 9.00pm +07
Bangalore - Freshers' Event Saturday, 31 August 2019 - 4.00pm to 7.00pm IST
Athens - Freshers' event Tuesday, 3 September 2019 - 8.00pm to 10.00pm EEST
New Berlin - Freshers' Event Thursday, 5 September 2019 - 5.00pm to 6.30pm CEST
New Liverpool - Freshers' Event Thursday, 5 September 2019 - 6.30pm to 9.00pm BST
Boston - Freshers' Event Thursday, 5 September 2019 - 6.30pm to 8.30pm EDT
Hamburg - Freshers' Event Friday, 6 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 11.00pm CEST
Munich - Freshers' Event Saturday, 7 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 10.00pm CEST
New London - Freshers' Event Wednesday, 11 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.30pm BST
Sheffield - Freshers' Event Thursday, 12 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 8.30pm BST
Cardiff - Freshers' Event Saturday, 14 September 2019 - 10.30am to 1.00pm BST
Updated Vietnam - Freshers' Event Saturday, 14 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 10.00pm +07
Updated Chester - Freshers' Event Saturday, 14 September 2019 - 1.00pm to 3.00pm BST
New Vienna - Freshers' Event Saturday, 14 September 2019 - 3.00pm to 6.00pm CEST
Updated Amsterdam - Freshers' Event Saturday, 14 September 2019 - 3.00pm to 5.00pm CEST
Düsseldorf - Freshers' Event Sunday, 15 September 2019 - 12.00pm to 4.00pm UTC
Updated Newcastle - Freshers' Event Monday, 16 September 2019 - 5.30pm to 7.00pm BST
Paris - Freshers' Event Monday, 16 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.00pm CEST
Updated Surrey - Freshers' Event Monday, 16 September 2019 - 7.30pm to 9.30pm BST
Maine - Freshers' Event Monday, 16 September 2019 - 5.30pm to 7.00pm EDT
Edinburgh - Freshers' Event Tuesday, 17 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 8.30pm BST
Gloucestershire - Freshers' Event Tuesday, 17 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 7.30pm UTC
Updated Norwich - Freshers' Event Thursday, 19 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 8.00pm BST
Updated Reading - Freshers' Event Thursday, 19 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.00pm BST
New Mumbai - Freshers' Event Friday, 20 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 10.00pm IST
Updated Kent - Freshers' Event Sunday, 22 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 8.00pm BST
Exeter - Freshers' Event Wednesday, 25 September 2019 - 3.00pm to 5.00pm BST
New Geneva - Freshers' Event Wednesday, 25 September 2019 - 6.30pm to 8.30pm CEST
Madrid - Freshers' Event Wednesday, 25 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.00pm CEST
Updated Bristol - Freshers' Event Thursday, 26 September 2019 - 6.00pm to 9.00pm BST
Updated Dorset - Freshers' Event Thursday, 26 September 2019 - 7.00pm to 9.00pm BST
New Budapest - Freshers' Event Tuesday, 1 October 2019 - 5.00pm to 7.00pm CEST

Events map

Testimonials from last year's attendees

“It was great to meet not only the other students going to Cambridge but some alumni from college and hometown.” – Attendee, Perth event

“The hosts were exceptionally nice and well-prepared, and the event served its purpose well – I got to know fellow fresheres (sic) and feel more at ease about starting.” – Attendee, Poland event

“It was a great opportunity to get to know other Austrians starting at Cambridge and receive some useful tips before departure to the UK.” – Attendee, Austria event

“It made me less nervous about the prospect of knowing no one at university. I got to meet some people that are able to be familiar faces now I've arrived.” – Attendee, Surrey event.