Alumni Advisory Board Meeting - July 2014

Alumni Advisory Board Meeting - July 2014

  • University identifier

The twelfth biannual Alumni Advisory Board meeting was held on Friday 11 July 2014. This took the form of an away day focused on four key strategic objectives: AAB engagement with the University’s next major fundraising campaign, volunteering in terms of support and recognition, communications, and careers.

Alison Traub, Executive Director of Development and Alumni Relations, congratulated John Pritchard (Robinson 1983) on his appointment as Deputy Chair – Alumni, to the Board. As part of his role John is Chair of the new Steering Committee, whose role is to ensure the driving force behind the Board is alumni-led. He is joined by Dame Barbara Stocking (Murray Edwards (New Hall) 1969), Andrew Hill (Trinity 1984) and Dr Anne Thidemann (Emmanuel 1998).

Kai-Yuen Wong reported that the Working Group which carried out a recent review of the AAB had updated the Board’s governance documents and reviewed the Terms of Reference. The time-limited Group had met its objectives and dissolved its positon, allowing the newly formed Steering Committee to take forward this role.

The two permanent Working Groups reporting into the Alumni Advisory Board, Networks and Volunteers, and Communications, shared some of their recent activities and plans. Six new members had been welcomed to the Networks and Volunteers Working Group. Their meetings focused upon six key areas: student transition, events, recognition, communication, the Hospitality Scheme, conferences and sponsorship/fundraising. Two new members were welcomed to the Communications Working Group. That group’s recent meeting focused on how best to communicate to alumni and supporters in the upcoming campaign.

The Vice-Chancellor joined the Board for the afternoon session and shared his vision for the forthcoming campaign. Flick Osborn was thanked for her support during her time as Cambridge University Student Union President. Helen Hoogewerf-McComb was welcomed as Flick’s successor. Thanks were expressed to those Alumni Advisory Board members whose term of office expire in 2014.

The next meeting of the Alumni Advisory Board takes place in London on Wednesday 28 January 2015.